Blackberries, eggplant, squash & tomatos!

Juicy blackberries are in full bloom on Bainbridge and the surrounding Puget Sound…thus, we’ve been making pies! Last weekend, Noel and I picked berries on our walk along the Burke-Gilman trail, between Bothel and Woodinville. Noel’s a great pie-maker, while I’d never made one in my life.

That all changed this week, when I discovered a plethora of blackberries growing right at the end of my block! Jack and I picked 4 cups of berries, to which I added about 1 c. sugar, 2 tbs brown sugar, 1/3 c. flour, 1/2 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 tsp of fresh lemon zest. I poured the mixture into a Marie Callendar’s pie crust, and coated the top with Vanilla Soy milk, and a generous sprinkling of sugar….delish! We took a step stool with us yesterday to reach the high berries and made yet another pie.

On a walk around my neighborhood last evening, Noel and I discovered another huge blackberry grove behind Virgina Mason Clinic (along with apple trees and other berries)…will pick more today and we’ll tackle making our own pie crust this time!

Last night’s dinner?~! Fresh from my tiny potted garden – eggplant, yellow zucchini, and chives, combined with fresh button mushrooms and farmer’s market shallots. Seasoned and stir-fried with soy sauce, kirin, garlic and veggie broth, and served over rice. What a treat!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

