Keeping it raw!

Noel and I enjoyed a breakfast consisting of a fresh fruit salad, and Ezekial bread with almond butter!  A great way to start the day.

On my way home from Seattle, I stopped at Uwajimaya – the fantastic Asian grocery store, to find some Burdock Root – which is, according to David Wolfe (the Raw Food God), one of the best things you can ingest.  When I asked the Chinese produce guy if they had some, he got so excited, told me all about the magical healing properties of the root, and told me how to make tea, and how to cook it…he said, “I don’t normally do this, but you know, this is medicine!”, and I told him I knew…take a look at this great tasting tea….yum!  I drank two glasses after my lunch of seaweed salad, a delicious green drink, pickled soy sprouts, and a shrimp spring roll with peanut sauce.

Yummy, bright green burdock tea is a great blood purifier, full of antioxidants, vitamin Bs, and more.

I’ve been craving dehydrated flax crackers (being the carbo craving chick I am), since I first got turned on to raw foods, but unfortunately, I haven’t gotten my hands on a used (that is to say, cheap) dehydrator.  But being the master of invention on a very hot day, it occurred to me that my car would be the perfect, bug-free dehydrator…so here begins my experiment…

I combined the following ingredients on the slow option on my blender (I’m way too hot and lazy to dig out all the parts of the yet-unused food processor, to figure out how it works).

1 c golden flax seeds

a hand full each of sunflower seeds and raw sesame seeds

1/3 cup of brewers yeast

1/2 tsp of sea salt (what can I say, I love salt)

1 tsp raw garlic (or one garlic clove)

1 c chopped up raw tomatoes

1/4 cup sun dried tomatoes

I gently blended it all up, spread it out on a pizza pie pan, and set it in my car on 100 degrees (or so, haha)….I’ll let you know how it all turns out…

OH, and I’m sprouting my first beans today…mung beans and garbanzo beans…yum!   In case you’re disgusted by now, just remember, anything is delicious with garlic, ginger, lemon, soy sauce, lime juice, raw apple cider vinegar, Kirin, cold-pressed olive oil, flax oil, Braggs, salt, Brewer’s yeast, and/or raw honey tossed with it!  I kid you not.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Keeping it raw!

  1. Michelle Felt

    Hi, I found your site through Marriedwithluggage.com. My husband and I are planning on starting our travel adventure in March and it is so nice to read a fellow tribesman’s thoughts. I also have been into raw since January and have enjoyed many of the same benefits! I’m trying to incorporate easy ways to be raw while on the road. I’m so glad I came across your blog this way. How did your crackers turn out in the car??

    • Hi Michelle! So glad you found us here. My crackers were delicious – a bit chewy….it didn’t quite get warm enough, but it did work…would work in a warmer climate for sure! I’m still in the market for a dehydrator…I just can’t see spending $8/bag for 2 ounces of chips, you know?

Leave a Reply

